Sinhala (Sri Lanka)Tamil (Sri Lanka)


    Font size
  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size

Deputy Speaker chief guest at 33rd National Conference of Chartered Accountants on Thursday

Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Hon. Chandima Weerakkody (MP) will be the chief guest at the inauguration of the 33rd National Conference of Chartered Accountants on Thursday (October 18th, 2012) at Waters Edge, Battaramulla.

Organized by the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka (CA Sri Lanka), the conference, which is one of the most anticipated corporate events in the country, will this year see an impressive foreign participation including the Mr. Keith Wedlock, President of the Confederation of Asian and Pacific Accountants (CAPA) which is the largest regional accounting organization, along with other top CAPA representatives including its Chief Executive.

The foreign guest list will also include Mr. Mark Spofforth, President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of England and Wales (ICAEW), who is the guest of honour at the event. ICAEW is one of the world’s oldest accounting organisations.

The keynote address will be delivered by Mr. Adam Sack, Country Manager of International Finance Corporation.

The three day conference will centre on the inspiring theme ‘Winning: Country, Corporate, Citizen’ which aims at solving the puzzle of success. The conference, will include two days of technical sessions, and will conclude on October 20th.

This year’s conference will see over 1000 participations including chartered accountants and business leaders who will be steered by a high profile panel of experts who will discuss and deliberate on the means of overcoming the challenges posed by persistent volatility on the pathway to solving the puzzle of success and ensuring ‘winning’ at a country, corporate and citizen level.

A total of six sessions will be held over a two day period. Session one on ‘winning economy’ will be presented by Prof. Premachandra Athukorala, Professor of Economics from the Australian National University. The panelists for the first session will include Mr. Amal Sanderatne CEO/Director of Frontier Research and Dr. Indrajit Coomaraswamy, Former Director (Economy Affairs) of the Commonwealth Secretariat.

The second session on ‘winning strategy’ will be presented by Dr. John Viljoen, Managing Director of iedex. The panelists at the session will be Mr. Ajay Amalean, Director of MAS Holdings (Pte.) Ltd., and Mr. Rohan Pallewatta, Managing Director/CEO of Lanka Harness Company (Pvt.) Ltd.

The third session on ‘winning against the odds’ will be presented by Mr. Ranjith Fernando, Chairman of United Motors Lanka PLC and will comprise of panelists Mr. Rajendra Theagarajah, Managing Director/CEO of Hatton National Bank (HNB) and Mr. Naomal Goonewardena, Partner of Nithya Partners.

The fourth session will feature Mr. Sanjay Tiwari, Managing Director/CEO of Piramal Glass Ceylon PLC, who will speak on ‘winning attitudes’. The session will feature two panelists comprising of Mr. Shakthi Ranatunga, Group Human Resource Director of MAS Holdings Pte. Ltd, and Ms. Dilrukshi Kurukulasuriya, General Manager – Human Resources of Diesel and Motor Engineers PLC.

The fifth session will centre around ‘winning image’ and will feature Mr. Ranjith Page, Managing Director, CT Holdings and Deputy Chairman of Cargills (Ceylon) PLC as the speaker. The panelists for the fifth session will be Mr. Nalaka Godahewa, Chairman of the Sri Lanka Tourism Development Authority and Mr. Nandana Wickramage, Group Director and Head of Marketing and Sales of Ceylon Biscuit Ltd.

The sixth and final session will feature a team of three expert panelists, who will delve in detail on how to be a ‘winning professional accountant.’ The panelists will comprise of Mr. Reyaz Mihular, Managing Partner of KPMG, Mr. Asite Talwatte, Managing Partner of Ernst & Young and Mr. Asoka Pieris, Chief Executive Officer of Singer Sri Lanka.

Mr. Prabhakar Kalavacherla, Board Member of the International Accounting Standards Board, Mr. Ananda Mukherjee, Group Financial Advisor for Goodhope Asia Holding Ltd., and Mr.  Suresh Gooneratne, Director of Diesel and Motor Engineering PLC.