Sinhala (Sri Lanka)English (United Kingdom)


    Font size
  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size

Seven illustrious chartered accountants inducted to CA Sri Lanka Hall of Fame

மின்னஞ்சல் Print PDF

The Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka paid a glowing tribute to seven eminent Chartered Accountants recently by inducting them to the CA Sri Lanka Hall of Fame, which was launched in the presence of top accounting professionals including Governor Central Bank Mr. Ajith Nivard Cabraal.

The Institute honored Mr. Samy M Pasupathy, Mr. Cedric Trevor de Silva, Mr. Spencer Esmond Satarasinghe, Mr. Leslie Alan Winston de Alwis, Mr. Gamini Christopher Bernard Wijeyesinghe, Mr. James Selvanathan Mather and Mr. Charitha Prasanna de Silva at an event held at the Institute’s Auditorium to recognize their outstanding and yeomen contribution to the profession and the public in an illustrious career spanning decades in both the private and public sectors in the country.

Speaking at the event, CA Sri Lanka President Mr. Sujeewa Mudalige emphasized that 19 presidents and several councils later, CA Sri Lanka is today a strong responsible professional institute.

“Public expectation of the role of a professional body is changing and it’s important we demonstrate accordingly. Our reputation for accountability, objectivity and integrity is what differentiate us from others,” he noted.

Mr. Mudalige stressed that chartered accountants today play a leading role in the company boardroom; two years ago nearly 60 percent of the top 60 companies listed on Colombo Stock Exchange had at least one member of the Institute often as Chairmen, non-Executive Director or Chief Executive Officer. “This number has risen to almost 70 percent today, an increase of ten percent in just two years,” he noted.

Mr. Mudalige said that it was by establishing strong working partnerships that the institute will ensure all its members go from strength to strength and remain business professionals whom others admire.

“Today we acknowledge and pay homage to some of our founder members who guided our institute to what it is today. Both personally and on behalf of all our members, I want to thank these founder members, who laid a firm footing for our institute,” he added.

Chief Guest at the event, Central bank Governor Cabraal paid a glowing tribute to all seven recipients who were inducted to the Hall of Fame and felicitated for their achievements.

“These are icons of our institute, people we have followed, admired and people we can look upto. I must congratulate them for their outstanding contribution and congratulate the Institute for having the foresight and wisdom to have an award ceremony of this nature and for recognizing these individuals,” he said.

“We are fortunate to have such a wonderful set of people in our institute, they have given us the strength to follow , and on a day like today as we honour them, we should continue to follow in their footsteps and their lead while emulating the great policies they have set for us,” Mr. Cabraal added.

Profiles of Members Inducted to the Hall of Fame


Last Updated on Wednesday, 07 December 2011 11:00