Tamil (Sri Lanka)English (United Kingdom)


    Font size
  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size

CA Sri Lanka, SEC honours top corporate leaders for demonstrating leadership excellence

In a renewed effort aimed at fostering a stronger culture of corporate governance and sustainable corporate performance in the country, the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka (CA Sri Lanka) together with the Securities and Exchange Commission of Sri Lanka (SEC), recently paid tribute to ten distinguished Chairpersons of Public Listed Companies for demonstrating visionary leadership and governance in achieving sustainable corporate performance.

These chairpersons representing diverse sectors including leading conglomerates, and blue chip companies were honoured with the honorary title of ‘Distinguished Director PLC’ for their vision and for leading their organisations to achieve greater success.

The titles were conferred to;

Chairman of Carson Cumberbatch PLC - Mr. Tilak De Zoysa
Chairman of Hemas PLC - Mr. Husein Esufally
Chairperson of Hatton National Bank PLC - Ms. Ranee Jayamaha
Chairman of Aitken Spence PLC - Mr. D. H. S. Jayawardena
Chairman of CT Holdings PLC - Mr. Anthony Page
Chairman of Cargills (Ceylon) PLC - Mr. Louis Rajkumar Page
Chairman of Hayleys PLC - Mr. A. M. Pandithage
Chairman of Sampath Bank PLC - Mr. Dhammika Perera
Chairman of John Keells Holdings PLC - Mr. Susantha Ratnayake
Chairman of Bukit Darah PLC - Mr. Hari Selvanathan

The plaques were presented by SEC Chairman Dr. Nalaka Godahewa in the presence of CA Sri Lanka President, Mr. Arjuna Herath during the grand finale of the Annual Report Awards held recently.

CA Sri Lanka pioneered in introducing the best practice corporate governance code to Sri Lanka, and together with SEC, CA Sri Lanka early this year also launched the Corporate Directors Programme aimed at fostering a strong culture of corporate governance and sustainable corporate performance in the country. Following the success of the programme, both CA Sri Lanka and SEC kicked off a fresh initiative aimed at further strengthening corporate governance in the country by recognising top directors of the country’s corporate sector who have made a difference at an organisation level, which has also reflected positively at a national level.

Congratulating the recipients of the honourary title, Mr. Herath noted that the ten distinguished directors who were honoured were at the helm of the companies and have made a significant contribution towards good governance, sustained good performance while contributing significantly to the economy.

The Distinguished Directors were identified based on a number of factors including that a Public Listed Company/Conglomerate, has continuously achieved a high level of market capitalization.